Dispatches From the Highway

HATTIE B. WALKS BESIDE WENDY

HATTIE B.  WALKS BESIDE WENDY

Never one not to extend a kind, “Howdy” to folks I’m meeting on the road, I leaned over and asked the woman with her dog, “‘Are you traveling?'”

“I’m scattering my husband’s ashes” I was told.

Wendy spoke in soft tones, a Minnesota accent revealing her roots. Wendy’s husband had passed in 2009, yet the pain in her eyes was still present.

“He rode Harley’s for a while, then BMWs. Both he and his two sons rode to Alaska one year…that was good. He didn’t want to be put in the ground….he wanted his ashes scattered along the roads he loved to ride.”

Silence. Then my introduction to canine Miss Hattie B. followed. “Hattie B. and I are doing that for him.”

Live your life fully, find all the pleasure and take all the risks. Play the hand your dealt and play it to its fullest! Life is too short not to. FB

Comments are closed.