Dispatches From the Highway

DISPATCHES FROM THE DRIVEWAY!! LETTING JOY GRAB THE THROTTLE ON THIS ONE

DISPATCHES FROM THE DRIVEWAY!!  LETTING JOY GRAB THE THROTTLE ON THIS ONE

Howdy All!

For those who know me, you know I’m the Expedition Manager for Frank Barlow and his United States Border Tour, but personally, I’ve had an interesting day with my brain which has been ongoing. Clearly my day was destined to become more interesting.

On my way back from having my head examined (I know…but literally, it’s true) I was pulling into the driveway of the Barlow ranch to do what I do….manage lives, expeditions, adventures…you name it, I deal with it and turn it around. In any event, I see a well-dressed (body armor and technical riding gear) dude who was riding a stellar Ducati – no slouch – pulled over on the side of the road directly across from the entrance to the Barlow place.

First thing that comes to my mind is: okay, maybe one of riders following Dispatches from the Highway may have stopped by to pay respects of some sort or just to say Howdy. Neither as it turns out. This well-heeled Ducati rider was headed back to his own stomping grounds in Yreka, CA after having made a visit to Hansen’s Motorcycle Shop in Phoenix, OR. Best place around for performance bikes, said this gentleman.

I digress, however. After shouting to him if he needed some roadside assistance (not THAT kind 🙂 ) Mr. Costello came across the highway to shake hands and say he was doing just fine, but he needed to make a small adjustment to something that was irritating him as he was riding and had just pulled over to remove said irritation and continue on his way.

Having just had a brain scan at a local hospital, I was still a little shaky as I tried to explain he couldn’t have stopped at a more perfect place if he was having cycle issues as Frank Barlow is a long-standing friend of the Hansen’s and if he needed anything, we’d all be happy to pitch in and get Mr. Costello on his way. But as I said, it was just a side-stop to remove an irritant. I shared the blog address with Pat and told him that, if he didn’t have any objection, I’d like to post a blog entry about him and his beauty of a Ducati and he had no objection.

So folks, say a resounding Howdy to our new friend and fellow rider Pat Costello!! So great to meet you!

Comments are closed.